Skip to main content
  • Hōkūala Supports

    Our Leaders of Tomorrow

  • Ocean spray texture
July 14, 2022

Here at Hōkūala, we are dedicated to supporting our community and leading with the spirit of aloha. With this in mind, we’re proud to announce the winners of our 2022 scholarship program. Five leaders of tomorrow were selected from an impressive pool of applicants from Kauaʻi’s graduating class of 2022.

Our winners this year are:

  • Joseph Sams – Waimea High School (Simpson College, Iowa)
  • Nicolas Uribe – Kapaʻa High School (Kauaʻi Community College)
  • Jaedin Lagundino – Kauaʻi High School (Washington State University)
  • Francesca Bivens – Island School Kauaʻi (Vanderbilt University, Nashville)
  • Kirra Carvalho – Kauaʻi High School (Chaminade University, Honolulu)

The scholarships provided will support local students after high school graduation as they set out on their path to higher education. Each winner has demonstrated notable leadership among their peers and in the community, and will attend an institute of higher learning during the upcoming academic year.

“Everyone at Hōkūala Kauaʻi extends our best wishes to these fine young men and women in their pursuit of a higher education,” said Carrie Bligh, Operations Manager at Hōkūala. “We would like to thank all of the students who applied for a scholarship and congratulate those who were selected this year. We are proud to honor these remarkable young adults and feel confident they will continue to excel in their academic endeavors.”

In addition to scholarship funding, winners were also treated to a celebratory luncheon at Hualani’s Restaurant on July 16th. Congratulations to these five exceptional young people!